Posted by: ralpham | January 6, 2011

Tamed by the shrew

Tamed by the shrew

Joe – Spent hours on the internet yesterday looking for old photos of the Green Man. Not one sodding picture except this sign!

Then I thought of looking for the guys from my old band seeing as I’ve lost touch with ‘em. The last time I saw Harry, our mad trumpet player, was at Chris’ funeral, nearly 18 years ago. Couldn’t believe it when I saw him. He’d only got himself married. Not only was he tied, he was tamed as well by some burly bird half his bleedin age. They even had a kid in tow! The only time he seemed like his old self was after the ceremony when we slipped out for a crafty fag. It was good that he turned up cos I don’t think anyone else could’ve got Mary to smile that terrible day.

I was getting nowhere in my search, then the old girl suggested looking up his son on something called Facebook cos Harry’s got a quite unusual surname. A good idea, but I think I’ll get her to do it.

Fingers crossed for the search anyway!

Responses

  1. You’ve left me in suspense. Who the heck is this ‘Green Man’?

    • Hi, The Green Man is a pub in London where Joe and his band used to play in the 1950s – see chapter one.
      Suspense is the name of the game 🙂

  2. I was thinking of the Blue Man Band (are they long gone?), on an entirely wrong track. Someday, I will get to London…


Leave a Reply

Categories

