Posted by: ralpham | January 20, 2011

Trying to get a foot in the door…


Trying to get a foot in the door…

Ralph – Hi Folks. Joe’s not happy that he’s not blogging this week. I’m sure he thinks because From Out of the Blue is about him and his family, so this site is also his ☺ Anyway he’ll be back in the hot-seat next Thursday.

I’ve sent off a covering letter, a synopsis and the first three chapters to seven literary agents last week, five by post and two via email. I have to admit it was pretty nerve-racking.
At the weekend I went through the Writers’ & Artists’ Yearbook, looking for suitable publishing houses to write to. Almost every one said they didn’t accept unsolicited manuscripts. To say I was disappointed is an understatement, but yesterday I stumbled upon a site by the children’s author, Kim Norman. She has a post entitled: “No Unsolicited manuscripts?” Doesn’t mean you can’t send something!” She says that what it means is that you just send a cover/query letter.

I certainly hope she’s right! I’ll investigate the subject further in the next few days.

Ciao for now!

Responses

  1. I have a novel I’ll finish up this summer and be flogging to agents. I’m quite excited because I actually have two that will deign to read it. Well, there is a third. He rejected my last mss with a terse “could be more exciting”. I took that to mean “If you add excitement, feel free to resubmit” so maybe I’ll count him, too.

    Don’t get discouraged, Ralph. They want us discouraged. Don’t let them win.

    • Thanx JM. Well done you for getting agents interested. Yes, definitely three not two 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

