Posted by: ralpham | February 16, 2011

An unending sense of loss

An unending sense of loss

By Joe – Starting to get a bit worried about my Mary. I know you can never get over the loss of an offspring, not even after 18 years, but I gotta admit I thought you’d get to a point where you could deal with it and somehow move on a bit.

The old girl always wakes up before me, but yesterday, for some reason, I woke up at about 6.30 and she wasn’t beside me so I got up to see where she was. Found her sitting on the front room floor with Ralph’s manuscript fanned out all around her, reading. I stood in the doorway looking at this tiny figure with her back to me. If it wasn’t for the grey hair, you would’ve taken her for a little girl.

Don’t ask me why, but I just knew she was reading the passages about her beloved son. After about 10 minutes she shifted round. Again, don’t ask me why but I drew back so she couldn’t see me. I caught a glimpse of her profile. The last time I saw such grief etched on her face was when Chris’ coffin was lowered into the ground.

I tip-toed back to bed.

Responses

  1. Nicely written Ralph.

  2. i agree!

    • Thanks Mia


Leave a Reply

Categories

