Posted by: ralpham | March 16, 2011

This is getting seriously weird!

This is getting seriously weird!

Ralph – Hi folks, when I started this project three months ago I didn’t have a clue how it would pan out, but never in my wildest dreams did I think Joe would turn on me. It’s like I’m a ventriloquist and my dummy (Joe) is trying to take me over. It’s a bit like that ’70s film starring Anthony Hopkins called ‘Magic’.

Anyway, I’m not sure what to do. Maybe he’s right. Maybe the book is not as good as I thought. People keep asking me why don’t I go down the self-publishing route, but I only want the book published if the industry thinks it’s good enough.

He’s also right that I should be pushing ‘From out of the blue’ more but I’m a creative person not a salesman. I’m excited about the novel I’m writing now, not the one I finished in November 2010.

I keep thinking about that film ‘Magic”. The Hopkins character wasn’t very successful until he hooked up with the dummy was he?
Okay Joe, you win!

Ciao for now!

Responses

  1. Seriously getting worried about your sanity!

    Re: Self-publishing. Why should publishers be the sole arbiters of what is good. Plenty have got it wrong. Self publish and let the world decide. It’s getting easier too. Needn’t cost much and you might get a return. Some writers would even appear to get published after first self publishing – http://www.maclife.com/article/howtos/how_selfpublish_your_ebook_kindle_ipad
    For more info on self publishing:
    http://www.amazon.com/gp/feature.html?ie=UTF8&docId=1000234621
    http://www.smashwords.com/
    There are also open source programs that will allow you to convert your book to the correct format for the various e readers in use: http://calibre-ebook.com/

    So why not give it a try.

  2. Ralph, listen to the dummy.

  3. I’m with Bill on this. I have several non-fic books traditionally published, but not fiction. Those agents aren’t interested (yet–but I have a plan). But, who anointed them Knower of Good Novels? Not me. Not readers. Readers just want a good story. Agents admit our queries must be a topic they’re passionate about. No surprise they weren’t passionate about my paleo-historic character.

    I think there are a lot of niche groups that are being ignored in favor of the broad audience. Self-pub of an ebook is an easy way to stick your toe in those waters.

    Having said that, when I finish this book (24 Days), I will try to get the traditional venue interested. If they slap me down (again), I may well take the plunge.


Leave a Reply

Categories

