Posted by: ralpham | May 5, 2011

My new one-legged friend

My new one-legged friend

By Graham – Hello everyone, my name’s Graham and I was the original bass player with Joe’s band, The Raiders.

He obviously liked Harry’s blog of a few weeks ago because he asked if I wanted to do this one.

It seems like ages ago since our fantastic reunion in March. I have to admit I got a little bit tiddly on the Merlot but at least I wasn’t staggering about like the other two.

I slept over at Joe and Mary’s that Saturday night, but before going to bed I read a few chapters of this book Joe’s friend had written about us. I’m used to reading about myself and my business in the Financial Times but that was a totally different experience.

I have to say, I’m getting rather exciting about Joe’s idea of getting the band together for Harry’s 80th  birthday bash. In fact I bought a double bass two weeks ago. The last time I had one of them was when we were playing jazz. Then Rock ‘n’ Roll came along and out went jazz, along with my one-legged friend.

The one thing that hasn’t changed over the years though is Joe Simmonds’ arrogance. Apparently his friend’s not having much success in getting the book published, so he said because it’s our story, we ought to self-publish it ourselves.

I hope it was just the drink talking that night, because not even he can seriously think that he can publish someone else’s work.

Watch this space!

Leave a Reply

Categories

