Posted by: ralpham | May 12, 2011

Self-publish? Over my dead body!

Self-publish? Over my dead body!

By Ralph – Hi folks, I see old man Simmonds is growing his cast list on my blog. On one hand it’s a bit annoying getting posts emailed for me to upload from people I don’t know, but on the other it’s quite nice because I feel I already know Harry and Graham after all those years of writing about them.

I don’t know about you folks but I thought Graham came over as quite a nice guy last week and that’s exactly the character I gave him in my novel. (It’s good to know I got something right :)).

So Joe Simmonds thinks he can get his hands on my novel to self-publish does he? He clearly knows nothing about the law. Or knowing him, he probably thinks he’s above it.

I’m involved with lots of writing groups on the internet via www.linkedin.com and what I see is loads of people so desperate to get themselves into print that they’ll do whatever it takes to get there. I think Joe’s one of those people even though he hasn’t written anything.

He had a go at me in one of his posts in March, http://wp.me/p1f8Nz-77, hinting that why my book hasn’t been picked up by an agent/publisher was because it isn’t good enough. So if that’s the case, why does he want it published? For his ego, that why!

On a lighter note, it would be great to see Joe, Harry and Graham at their band reunion in the summer. That’s if Joe invites me of course!

Ciao for now!

Responses

  1. Self-pub is the new frontier. Not as nutty as a box of pistachios, so that’s something. Most people I know, we’d go with an agent, but are coming around to self-pub is fine. Some people i know turn down agents because the opportunities of self-pub are bigger and better (and potentially more money, more control over our future).

    What’s not to like? Getting there is about as tangled as my grandma’s yarn, but that’s another story.


Leave a Reply

Categories

