Posted by: ralpham | June 2, 2011

A different point of view

 A different point of view

By Ralph – Hi folks, after nearly two months of writing in the first person, present tense, I have to admit defeat. I just found it too hard to move the story along. It was like walking down a narrowing tunnel. Even my good friend Jean Fullerton, an established author, said she wouldn’t attempt it.

But on the plus side, I really got into my lead character. For example, sitting with her by her son’s tombstone seemed so real that I got a bit depressed for a while. Also, being in her 70’s, I could feel the stiffening in her back when she sat in the same position for more than 20 minutes, or the pain in her bunions if she had to wait too long for a bus.

Anyway, so I’m rewriting the story in the third person, past tense, as my previous novel. Next time I’ll listen to you Jean 🙂

I’ve finally got Mary to agree to write a post for the blog. I’m sure she only agreed to shut me up. I’m not sure how Joe’s going  to react to her doing it. Although he should be alright because he was just as keen to get her involved at the start of this project nearly six months ago. But of course, a lot has changed between us since then!

Ciao for now!

Leave a Reply

Categories

