Posted by: ralpham | July 28, 2011

When reality comes crashing in!

When reality comes crashing in!

Hi folks, I’m numbed by the weekend massacre at the youth camp on the island of Utøya, in Norway. It’s all very well writing a fictional novel about a mother losing a son, but no matter how hard a writer tries to get into the head of his character, as I have tried with Mary, it’s still make-believe. Okay, so a author when he/she sits down to write, has to connect emotionally with the story that’s being told, but after several hours he/she stops writing and gets back into the real world of friends, home, family etc.

I’m reminded of a Sunday afternoon spend with friends five years ago. Their son has Cerebral Palsy and had just started playing wheel-chair basketball. Being a fairly competitive type, I challenged him to a game. I got into a spare wheel-chair and we had great fun for the next 20 minutes. But what I shall never forget was at the end of the game, I sprang out of the wheel-chair, and there was the little fellow still in his.

The point I’m making is that whatever we feel while writing is temporary. For some, like the bereaved parents in Norway, the grief is unending.

ps. My friend’s son is now 18 and he plays basketball for the county of Essex. I don’t think I’ll be challenging him to another game ☺

Ciao for now!

Responses

  1. You offer many thought-provoking thoughts here. Thank you.

  2. Thanks for the comment, Arlene. Bless you!

  3. We are reminded how fortunate we are when awful things happen to innocent people…let us NOT forget.

    • How right you are, Ern

  4. -my above comment relates to the Norwegian tragedy.


Leave a Reply

Categories

