Posted by: ralpham | September 28, 2011

The inmates are taking over the aslyum!

The inmates are taking over the aslyum!

By Ralph – Hi Folks, I’m off on vacation next week for a well-deserved break. The only thing I’ll be doing is mapping out the whole of my second novel – I’ve been pretty much writing blind, without knowing where the story is going.

One of the strangest experiences I’ve had in the last couple of months – which I didn’t have with the first novel – is characters taking the story where I don’t want it to go. The worst offender is Mary’s brother, who had a relatively minor role in “From Out Of The Blue”. He wants to find out how exactly his nephew Chris died. The last thing I wanted this sequel to be was some sort of detective novel!

Do other writers have this problem of their characters taking over the storyline? And if so, how do you rein them in?

Please leave a comment if this has happened to you.

See you in two weeks time!

Leave a Reply

Categories

