Posted by: ralpham | December 18, 2011

New year, new novel!

New year, new novel!

This time last year I was nervously writing my first blog after finishing my debut novel a month previously. So here we are, a year later and writing my 50th blog without being an inch closer to being published. Am I disappointed? Well I guess I was up to several months ago, but not anymore. I had given myself up to July to really push hard for an agent/publisher, which I did (and I’ve got the millions of rejection letters to prove it), so now it’s knuckling down to writing the sequel.

The blogging experience was great fun, but I couldn’t have done it without my characters, Joe, Mary, Harry and Graham pitching in.

In the time-honoured tradition of reflecting on the out-going year, I have picked a few of my favourite blogs: ‘This is getting seriously weird’ http://wp.me/p1f8Nz-7t was when Joe was giving me a hard time for not trying hard enough to get his story published. Another was ‘The evidence of a Godless society?’ http://t.co/Xgpr8Cq written in the light of the UK riots in the summer. Mary’s short story ‘The Visit http://t.co/Xgpr8Cq was truly remarkable, but my clear favourite has to be ‘An unending sense of loss’ http://wp.me/p1f8Nz-5V written by Joe about his wife’s grief of losing her son.

So, what of 2012? The only writing I’m sure I’ll be doing is on my second novel.

See you next year.

Ciao for now!

Responses

  1. Thanks for co-ordinating (writing?) the 2011 blogs, and have a good Christmas.

    • Cheers David. And have a good one yourself!

  2. How’s the novel going? I’ve often heard that it takes three novels to get the first contract. For me, that’s proven true. My third (Twenty Four Days) was picked up by an agent to my amazement. I’m now doing edits. We’ll see if a publisher bites.

    What I’m saying is, don’t give up. Even if #2 doesn’t go. Magic Three. The thing is, we writers can’t stop writing so there’s no use in giving up. We’re just back at it again.

    Throw up a post now and then–or come tell me how you’re doing!

  3. Hello Ralph – let us know what you’re up to for 2014 – like your stories and hope you are still writing.

    • Hey Elisabeth, just finished the sequel to my first novel, so in the next few month I’ll be bombarding agents and trad publishers again.
      Soul-destroying! 😀


Leave a Reply

Categories

